Welcome to the Nerd Table!

35519_10200110734283529_875908468_n

Greetings and salutations, fellow world wide web users! My name is P.J. I am a thirty-something Hispanic nerd. I was born in the early eighties in southern Texas. Against all odds I turned out to be a total nerd. This is my first stab at a blog and I’m hoping it’ll go along swimmingly! My thoughts tend to be a lot of lists and outlines of such stuff so I’m hoping you’ll all get a kick out of what I have to offer.

So what will this blog be about? Well, I’m a huge music fan so I imagine that will be a big part. My taste in music tends to curve towards classic rock (The Beatles, the Stones, Bob Dylan, etc.) but I also love jam stuff (Grateful Dead, Phish), and am a product of late nineties alternative music (Smashing Pumpkins, Beck). Though I am not anywhere near as fanatical to current stuff as I am to 60s and 70s music.

I love to read; I’m a total Tolkien nerd! The Lord of the Rings is my bible. I’m also a Stephen King and J. K. Rowling junkie. I’ve currently (with the purchase of a Kindle) gotten back into comic books. I gave them up in the late nineties for financial reasons but I am back in a big, bad way. My main two reads are the X-Men books and Batman books though I’m also into some of the more current media darlings like Locke & Key, Saga, and Morning Glories.

Then there are film and TV. Freaks and Geeks and The Wonder Years are constantly being watched in my house, as well as crazy time travel flicks (Quantum Leap, Back to the Future, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban… have you guys seen Primer???!!).

My personal life might come up a bit. I am currently engaged to be married (pretty soon). My fiancée and I were friends for more than ten years, we met after high school during our late-teen-early-twenties-hang-out-period. We continued to be friends while we both went in and out of relationships. Finally, we were both single about two and a half years ago and decided to give it a go. She is a nerd in her own right (huge into reading and Bjork) and we just laugh all the time. So wedding planning and junk of that sort might spill into this blog.

I try to stay positive in life. I’m generally not a negative person so if you expect this blog to be a lot of public bashing, it’s not. Not to say there won’t be some griping and quibbling (come on, it’s the internet after all) but I feel I’ll generally be on the positive/excited side of a subject.

So, take a seat at this here nerd table in the corner of the room and join in! (The cool table in the center of the room is boring anyway.)

The least you could do is smile,

P.J.

Leave a comment