We All Float: Stephen King’s ‘IT’ Remake

IT

So the Hollywood Report has stated that the re-make for the Stephen King novel IT is in the works. Cary Fukunaga (Jane Eyre, True Detective) is attached to write and direct the film and that it will be split into two films.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/stephen-kings-be-adapted-by-334899

I am very excited about this news. IT has been my favorite Stephen King novel since I was old enough to read it. I probably first read it when I was around thirteen years old and it took me a year to get through it (it’s a very long book).

I was also a fan of the made-for-TV film starring Tim Curry as the terror that is… Pennywise! The cast, writing, mood, and music was so perfect in that film. The only thing was the cheesy effects and lackluster ending that brought it down.

I was so into this novel that in the early 2000s I tried to adapt it into a comic book. Much like what Marvel has done with The Dark Tower series. Didn’t get around to finishing it of course.

My personal pic for the new Pennywise would be Adrien Brody. I feel he’s got the diversity to play many monsters, as well as the sincereness and silliness of a crazy, intense clown. Just with minimal makeup he could deliver the terrors!

Adrien Brody

Leave a comment